London Schools and the Black Child Academic Achievement Awards 2013

Thursday 3 October 2013 – House of Commons

 The Awards form an important part of Diane Abott’s initiative aimed at raising the achievement levels of Black pupils in London, but also nationwide. For the past seven years she has held an awards ceremony at the House of Commons to celebrate the highest achieving young people of African and African-Caribbean descent. In recent years they were honoured to have broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald, British Olympic silver-medallist Christine Ohuruogu, soul singer Ruby Turner, former England and Spurs footballer Ledley King, comedianLenny Henry, BAFTA award winning actress Naomie Harris, television & radio presenter Sarah Jane Crawford, and businessman Damon Buffini with us to hand out awards.


They would like to encourage Headteachers and staff to nominate students they feel have given an outstanding academic performance. Nominators should also include additional information about non-academic and extra-curricular achievements.

The nomination categories:

  •  Outstanding performance at GCSE
  • Outstanding performance at A Level
  • Outstanding performance in Higher Education

All shortlisted students will be invited to the Awards show at the House of Commons, where their achievements will be recognised by inspirational speakers and supporters. Prizes in the past have included iPads, laptop computers, Amazon Kindles, MP3 players and other goodies.


 LSBC Awards 2013 Nominations

Address: Diane Abbott MP, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA

Fax: 0207 219 4964

Related Posts

Leave a Reply